James Allsopp

James Allsopp is multi-instrumentalist and composer. His debut album “Fraud”, by the band of the same name, was highly critically acclaimed and he received the BBC Jazz Award for “Innovation” in 2008 and the Ronnie Scott Jazz Award for “Best Newcomer” in 2007. His music for both Fraud and his new trio The Golden Age of Steam has been featured on BBC Radio 3’s Jazz on 3 programme.

As a siademan James has played in the UK and all over Europe and the U.S.A with many musicians including The Brian Irvine Ensemble, Polar Bear, David Axelrod, Joe Morris, The F-IRE collective Big Band, Richard Fairhurst, Ingrid Laubrock, Paul Dunmall, Dylan Bates, Stan Sultzmann and Graham Collier amongst others. He has also been a featured soloist with the Ulster Orchestra in “His Marvellous Medicine”, a piece by composer Brian Irvine. In May 2006 he performed the world première of “Shore”, by composer Dave Meric, a piece for dancers, saxophone and choir.